School Board 

Aimee Hooper-EdePresiding 
Lisa HillPrincipal/ 

Staff Representative

Barbara ReidBoard 
Dominique PeeblesBoard MemberHealth &


Presiding Member Introduction

Kia ora, my name is Aimee, and I am honoured to be the new Presiding Member for Avon School. I know I have

big shoes to fill but I would like to thank Barbara Reid for leading the former board and for her dedication to

not only the school itself, but especially the tamariki through the likes of the breakfast club etc. I look forward

to working with her and the other board members at Avon School as I truly believe that together, as a team, we

can successfully progress school initiatives especially developing a new localised curriculum from 2023.

With Stratford being my hometown, my family and I have enjoyed settling back in here and setting good

foundations for our kids. My husband and I own and run a hire company here in Stratford and we have three

young ones: two boys (13 & 10), and our daughter (3). Our two sons currently attend Avon School although the

oldest is on his way to Stratford High School next year. Jasper is currently year 6 and Jack is year 8 and the

Head Boy of Avon School for 2022. In Jan 2024 my youngest will be joining the Avon School whānau when she

finishes her time at Avon Kindergarten (though she wishes this was sooner). I am a mum that likes to keep busy,

and my personal time is often spent either baking or doing something crafty and I enjoy supporting my kids in

their school and sporting activities.

You are probably aware that schools throughout New Zealand have faced multiple challenges over the past few

years. Like many schools, Avon School has had its share of staffing shortages, student absences and delays in

staff professional learning. However, we have a strong, close-knit community here in Stratford and I believe that

together we will get through these challenges and aim to make a difference in these young lives.

With the recently announced changes of Teaching staff here at Avon, I would like you to know that this decision

wasn’t made lightly but after discussion with our current teachers we all feel that allowing the swap means they

get to teach to their expertise and our tamariki will get the best learning opportunities over the next term from

this also.

Going forward into Term 4, we plan to have a great school term with the aim of as little disruption as possible.

We appreciate that this time of year can be very busy and also very tough for many families, but our student

leaders would like to lead a few small fundraising initiatives they have been brainstorming. These students have

a few exciting things planned to involve the tamariki, their whānau and the community. One of these is a Disco

which is being organised by our student leaders and supported by staff and another is a Whānau pancake

breakfast on Friday 25th November (pending confirmation). If there is anyone one who would like to help with

these in any way, please let me know. This can be as simple as some home baking for the disco tuck shop, loaning

lighting or decorations, supervising etc. Maybe you know of a local DJ? Any help is truly appreciated.

I invite parents and caregivers to please keep communications going with their children’s teachers and feel free

to email Rik or myself with any queries, concerns or comments you may have. We are here to help the best way

we can although if there are any complaints, we do request you follow the procedures we have in place for this.

These can be found on our website but if you need any help finding these please let myself

or Carol in the office know and we will be happy to send this out to you.

As the Presiding Member of Avon School, I will continue to bring a sense of community and drive leadership within

our tamariki and support teachers and families with their future goals. I have a strong interest in the governance

and management side of how a school works and I am looking forward to supporting teachers, parents and most

of all our tamariki to be the best ‘me’ that they can be.

Aimee Hooper-Ede